Pie Crust Cookies

It is official! Baking for Christmas has begun! I stocked up on huge freezer-safe tupperware and plastic bags, unsalted butter, and sprinkles. From now until Christmas I’ll be baking away in my kitchen so I can build pretty little cookie gift boxes to give out to everyone I know. Now that I’m no longer working at a bakery, I can spend my time baking at home instead of baking hundreds of bundt cakes in 12-hour shifts. As much as I love to get paid to bake, I missed having the ability to get creative with what I make.

During a recent day trip to Julian, my sister and I noticed one of the local bakeries featured pie crust cookies. I never thought to use pie dough for cookies because it is normally a very bland tasting dough, but they looked pretty good. I didn’t try one. I looked up some recipes online instead. What a great idea to add to my Christmas cookies. You simply use pie dough, cut into shapes, and top with melted butter, cinnamon, and sugar. It would be a delicate, lightly sweetened addition to my other, more sweet, cookies. This recipe is pretty simple and you can cut them into any shape you’d like. The recipe below has a flaky texture. You can use other pie crust recipes for a more flat, harder cookie.

 

Rating 5/5

 

Pie Crust Cookies

Oven Temp: 450°F

Cooking Time: 8-9 minutes

 

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tbsp sugar

1 tsp salt

1 1/4 cup (2 1/2 sticks) unsalted cold butter, cut into cubes

1/4 cup cold water

1/4 cup cold vodka

3 tbsp butter, melted

2 tbsp sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

 

In a food processor, add flour, sugar, and salt. Pulse for 2 seconds to combine. Add butter cubes and pulse for 10-20 seconds until dough moistens and forms. If you don’t have a food processor, combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl and cut in the butter with a fork.

Move dough to a large bowl. Sprinkle the water and vodka over the dough. Carefully knead the dough just until a ball forms. Separate the ball in half and form each half into a disk. Wrap each disk in plastic wrap and chill for at least 1 hour.

On a floured surface, roll out dough to 1/4-inch thickness with a floured rolling pin. Cut out shapes with a cookie cutter or the rim of a drinking glass.

Place dough shapes onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. In a small bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon to create cinnamon sugar mixture. Brush each cookie with melted butter and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar mixture. Bake for 8-9 minutes and allow to cool completely before removing from cookie. They will be delicate.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

