Fruit Gummy Snacks

Since starting this new diet I’ve struggled with not being able to eat any sweets, especially candy. Even though I have a nutrition degree, I have a huge sweet tooth (in case you haven’t already guessed). One of my all time favorite candies is sour gummy worms. I use to keep a 5 lb bag of them in my freezer to snack on when the cravings hit. I just love gummy candy.

I am at the point now where I’m pretty happy and comfortable with the new diet, but am feeling very limited in the sweet treat department. And since I’m a fan of gummy candy and fruit snacks, I decided to try and make my own! This way I can get that chewy gummy texture while eating something sweet, but healthy. What I like about this recipe is the fact that it takes very few ingredients and you can use whatever fruits (or even veggies) you’d like. I think next time I may try adding some citric acid powder to make them a little more sour.

Rating 5/5

 

Strawberry Banana Fruit Gummies

Cooking Time: about 5 minutes

 

1 lb fresh strawberries, sliced in half

1 banana, sliced

1/2 cup organic fresh lemon or lime juice

1 1/2 tbsp organic stevia

1/2 cup (about 5 envelopes) unflavored gelatin

 

Place strawberries, banana, and lemon juice in a medium saucepan on low-medium heat. Allow to cook for about 5 minutes, or until the fruit has softened.

Pour the fruit mixture into a food processor or blender and carefully pulse until the fruit is pureed. Allow to cool 5 minutes.

Whisk the stevia into the fruit mixture. Pour the gelatin powder onto the fruit mixture and allow it to sit for about 1 minute. Whisk the gelatin in until smooth.

Line a 9×13-inch baking pan with parchment paper or you can use silicone candy molds if you’d like. Pour the gummy candy mixture into the pan (or molds). Allow to cool in the refrigerator for 1-2 hours. Cut the fruit gummies into squares and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

