Lemon Lavender Shortbread Cookies

2014-05-15 13.17.15

I’m back! Finally after one final year of college, I have graduated with my BS in Foods and Nutrition and I can return to cooking and baking my day away in the kitchen. As soon as I turned in my last final exam, I began planning all of the goodies that I have put on hold for so long! I apologize for the long absence. It was a very stressful and busy school year for me. (I didn’t even get to make my Christmas cookies!)

So to start of my new blog redesign and the beginning of a new chapter as far as posts go, I figured what better way to begin than by using the lavender sugar I’ve held onto for so long. Paired with lemon zest, the flavor of lavender goes great in this buttery shortbread recipe. If you don’t have lavender sugar like I did, you can combine some lavender flowers with granulated sugar. These cookies are perfect for a hot, spring day. I took some on a wine tasting/lunch trip to Temecula.

Rating 5/5

 

Lemon Lavender Shortbread Cookies

Oven Temp: 375⁰F

Cooking Time: 13 to 15 minutes

 

1/2 cup lavender sugar

zest of one lemon

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

 

Preheat oven to 375⁰F and line two baking sheets with parchment paper. In a large bowl, combine lavender sugar and lemon zest. Using a stand mixer or hand mixer, add butter and cream butter, sugar, and zest together until creamy. Add vanilla extract.

Adding one 1/2 cup at a time, slowly mix in flour and salt until just combined. Dough will be sticky. Shape the dough into a ball using your hands. Once a ball forms, turn it out onto a hard surface and roll into a log shape.

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and chill for 4 hours or overnight. After chilling, unwrap the dough and slice into 1/4-inch slices using a sharp knife. Place dough cutouts on prepared baking sheets.

Bake for 13 to 15 minutes or until bottoms are light golden brown. Cool for 5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack.

Enjoy.

Found the recipe on the lavender sugar package.

Leave a Reply

