Chocolate Sandwich Cookies


image

Lately I have been craving Oreo Cookies, peeking at them every time I’m at the store. I remembered I had found a recipe for these on Pinterest that looked amazing! Even though I’m on summer break, I am still finding it hard to bake more at home. With my free time I am out exploring new hiking trails with my pooch. However I can not forget about my passion because it is what makes me happy! This afternoon had “relaxing baking time” written all over it.

For the cookies:
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup dutch process cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

For the filling:
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
2 tbsp half and half
1 tsp vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
3 to 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
image

In a large bowl, beat together the butter and sugar until creamy. Add the egg and vanilla extract until well combined.

image

image

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.
image

Gradually beat flour mixture into butter mixture on low speed until just combined.

Form dough into a ball. Separate ball into 2 disks, wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for one hour.
image

Preheat oven to 350º F. Roll out dough one disk at a time on a lightly floured surface. Cut out dough using a 2-inch round cookie cutter. Place cookies on a parchment-lined baking sheet about an inch apart.

image

Bake for 12 minutes. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack immediately. Cool completely.
image

To make the filling, beat together the butter, half and half, vanilla, and salt. Slowly mix in the powdered sugar, one 1/2 cup at a time. You want a thick frosting-like consistency.
image
image

Once the cookies are cooled completely, pipe a small amount of frosting onto half of the cookies. Sandwich them with the second half. You can use a piping bag with a frosting tip or a ziploc bag with the tip cut off.

image

I loved these cookies. I’m going to stash this recipe in my collection for later. They were so easy to frost and assemble. The 12 minute baking time was spot on. They harden slightly once cooled so they are ready to be frosted.

image

Rating 5/5

Recipe found here.

Leave a Reply

