White Chocolate Apricot Scones

20130407_173507

White chocolate and apricots go so well together. I discovered this combination in a scone I tried while waiting for breakfast at the Giuseppe Museum Cafe in La Jolla. I remembered tasting the very light touch of sweetness from the scones while sipping delicious Bird Rock organic coffee.  Ever since I tasted them I wanted to make them myself.

The recipe I found seemed very easy and exactly what I was looking for.

2/3 cup butter, chilled and cut into small cubes

3 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup finely chopped dried apricots

1 cup white chocolate chips

2 eggs

2/3 cup half-and-half

1 tsp vanilla extract

granulated or turbinado sugar for topping

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Using a fork or a pastry blender, cut together the butter, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt until crumbly.

20130407_153027

Stir in dried apricots and white chocolate chips.

20130407_154131

Add eggs, half-and-half, and vanilla extract. Mix until it begins to form a ball of dough. Turn out onto a lightly flour surface and knead until it holds together, about 10 times.

20130407_155228

Split dough into two balls. Press each dough ball onto a separate parchment-lined cookie sheet to an 8-inch disk. Bake at 400 degrees F for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden.

20130407_160128

20130407_173530

I was worried at first because the recipe called for 15 minutes of baking, but every time I checked them, they hadn’t even changed color. I took one out to try and it seemed doughy in the middle. I decided to bake them for a total of 30 minutes. I had only made scones once before and it wasn’t very successful. This time was much better. It’s all about getting the scones dough just right. The dough should not be sticky and overly moist like cookie dough. You want to keep it a little crumbly to keep the pieces of butter intact which will give you a crumbly, light texture in the final product. I want to bake these again because they are SO GOOD with a cup of coffee.

Rating 5/5

Recipe found at Food.com.

Leave a Reply

