Crockpot Cinnamon Almonds

20121214_120136

These cinnamon almonds sounded very good when I spotted them on pinterest. They made me think of the “crack almonds” my friend, Alex, buys at the harvest festival every fall. The idea of making the very same almonds in my crockpot sounded very easy and I wanted to give them a try to see if they were that simple. I doubled the recipe but I’m sharing the recipe for one batch.

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

3 tbsp ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp salt

1 egg white

2 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups almonds

2 tbsp water

20121214_073146

In a large bowl, combine the white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt. In a separate large bowl, whisk together the egg white and vanilla extract until frothy. Toss the almonds in the egg white mixture to coat.

Spray a 4-quart slow cooker with nonstick cooking spray. Add the almonds to the crockpot. Cover the almonds in the sugar mixture and stir to completely coat. The egg white mixture will help the sugar mixture stick to the almonds.

20121214_075026

20121214_075017

Cook on low for 4 to 5 hours or high for 3 to 4 hours, stirring every 30 minutes. Within the last hour, add the 2 tbsp of water and stir together. The water will help the almonds get their hard candy coating from the sugar.

Spread the almonds out on a parchment paper lined baking sheet and separate the clumps as best as you can. Allow to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

20121214_120146

At first I was unsure about how the almonds would turn out. Would they be those addicting almonds I remember from the harvest festival? Turns out they were just as addicting. I set them out to cool and left for work. When I came home, all I heard from my parents and my sisters was “don’t make those almonds anymore… they are addicting!”

I’m hoping Alex will like them too.

Enjoy.

Found this recipe through The Recipe Critic.

Leave a Reply

