Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings

20121205_171024

Right now I am very active on pinterest. I’m constantly looking around on the site and pinning recipes and other ideas to my boards. I have a few recipes pinned that I have wanted to try for dinner and today I decided to check out the chicken and dumplings in the crockpot.

It has been pretty cold out lately and I thought that I would make this dish to share with my boyfriend (who is always surprising me with dinner). The picture sold me on the recipe and I would like to share my experience with my readers.

1 lb (2-3 pieces) thawed, boneless, skinless chicken breast

2 cans condensed cream of chicken soup

1 can chicken broth

1 medium onion, diced

4 carrots, peeled and sliced

4 stalks celery, sliced

4 large flaky refrigerator biscuits (1/2 can)

black pepper to taste

20121205_102833

Place thawed chicken at bottom of crockpot. Add cream of chicken soup, chicken broth, onion, carrot, and celery over chicken. Add pepper if desired. Cook on high for 4 to 6 hours or on low for 8 hours. Do not stir while cooking.

20121205_104934

Cut each uncooked biscuit into 9 small pieces and stir into chicken stew. Allow to cook for 30 minutes. Remove chicken from crock pot and shred with a fork. Return chicken to pot. Stir and serve hot.

20121205_161909

I really love meals in the crockpot. They are inexpensive and provide you with 2 or 3 nights of dinner. The original recipe did not call for carrots or celery, but I added it because getting some extra veggies doesn’t hurt. It reminded me of chicken pot pie. So delicious!

Enjoy.

Recpice found on PolishTheStars.com.

Leave a Reply

