Chocolate Chip Cream Cheese Cookies

These chocolate chip cookies came to be because I had some more ingredients laying around that I wanted to get rid of – cream cheese and chocolate chips. Why not put cream cheese into a chocolate chip cookie? I only see good coming out of this combination. I pulled together a recipe that combines the two perfectly. I plan on saving all of the cookies for an upcoming bonfire I will be having with my long time friends (to go with the smores of course).

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

6 oz cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 (12 oz) package semisweet chocolate chips (about 1 1/2 cups)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl, combine butter, cream cheese, sugar, and brown sugar until creamy.

Add vanilla extract, egg, baking soda, and salt. Gradually mix in flour a little bit at a time until well combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop by spoonfuls, about a tablespoon, onto the ungreased parchment paper. I had just received an ice cream scoop from my grandmother with the intention to only use it for baking cookies. I was excited to use it and I have to say I love it!

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until the bottoms begin to brown. Allow to cool and store in an air tight container.

I was worried when they came out of the oven that they would not be cooked through on the inside being the size that they are. I thought if I took out the egg in the recipe that the structure wouldn’t hold so much and they would flatten a little more and cook better. Once I tasted them, I realized they were perfect. Very tasty and I was able to use up the cream cheese along with the chocolate chips!

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cream Cheese Cookies

Leave a Reply

