Watermelon Cookies Revisited

About a year ago I tried this recipe I found online for watermelon cookies which were sugar cookies colored and decorated to look like little watermelon slices. And of course everyone loved them. Especially my closest friend, Hannah, who pretty much loves anything watermelon. About a week ago she graduated from UC Santa Cruz and I made the eight hour drive up and back to be there for her graduation ceremony. I wanted to make her a big batch of watermelon cookies to go with her graduation gift so I got out the ingredients and baked them a few days ahead of time. Now normally you make the cookies and dip the side into a sugar glaze to create the watermelon rind but I knew traveling with these cookies was not going to go well with a bunch of melting sugar glaze everywhere. I wanted to try and make these with a different method.

What I decided to do was create a cylinder of pink dough and then wrap that in a thin layer of green dough. Wrap the whole thing in parchment paper, throw it into a freezer bag and let it sit in the freezer for a couple of days. Then right before the trip, I unwrapped the dough, sliced it into 1/4-inch thick slices and topped each one with the mini chocolate chips. Bake them at 375 degrees F for about 8 to 10 minutes.

They traveled very easily in a ziploc bag and they were still very delicious. So now you can take the watermelon cookies and prepare them two different ways! I’m very pleased with these…and so was she. Congratulations Hannah!

4 thoughts on “Watermelon Cookies Revisited

Leave a Reply

