Monster Sherbet

Summer time is finally here and what better way to celebrate than by getting out the ice cream maker! I know a few people who are somewhat addicted to energy drinks and I’ve always wanted to try and incorporate an energy drink into something good to eat. At first I thought about making an energy drink cookie but then the idea came to me to put it in ice cream and that sounded way better!

I had to consult with my boyfriend because he is one of those people that used to drink energy drinks everyday. I was never really into the taste of anything other than a Rockstar and even then I rarely ever drank them. He had the idea to use a Monster over any other energy drink and make it into a sherbet instead of an ice cream…which made sense. The strange taste of an energy drink would be more satisfying if mixed with a fruit like oranges.

3/4 cup sugar

1 tbsp finely grated orange zest

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (about 2 or 3 pounds)

3/4 cup Monster energy drink

freshly squeezed lemon juice from 1 medium lemon

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cup cold whole milk

When it comes to preparing your ingredients, I suggest going with the freshly squeezed lemon and orange juice. I don’t see why you couldn’t used store bought juices, but the flavor may be more pronounced when they are fresh. With the Monster, I opened the can about an hour before I prepared the mixture to allow the energy drink to go flat and lose the carbonation. I didn’t want the bubbles to mess with the formation of my sherbet.

     

In a medium bowl, mix together all of the ingredients except for the milk. Stir until the sugar has dissolved, about 1 minute. Whisk in the cold milk. Cover the bowl and place in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

If you have an ice cream maker, remove the mixture from the fridge and pour into an ice cream maker. Process until the mixture reaches a consistency of soft serve ice cream. Pour sherbet into a sealed container, covering the top of the sherbet with a layer of plastic wrap. Seal and place in freezer for 3 to 4 hours before serving.

If you do not have an ice cream maker, remove the mixture from the fridge and briefly stir to recombine ingredients. Pour into a sealed container, covering the top with a layer of plastic wrap. Seal and place in the freezer for 5 to 6 hours, stirring the mixture every hour or two to evenly distribute the ice crystals.

Unfortunately I began to process my mixture in my ice cream maker and it ended up dying on me. So I switched to the freezer and stirred the mix every couple of hours until frozen through. The sherbet came out alright. Not as good as I wanted it to. I feel like this was largely due to the ice cream maker croaking. It had a great orange flavor with a hint of Monster, but it was not as smooth and creamy as I’d hoped. More icy than creamy.This recipe definitely needs revisiting as soon as I get myself a new ice cream machine.

This recipe makes about 1 quart of sherbet.

Leave a Reply

