Oatmeal To Go

What do you do when you are always rushing to work and don’t have time to make a good breakfast? You either get something more convenient on the way (which is most likely unhealthy) or you don’t eat at all. That seems to be the issue with my boyfriend. I am always trying to encourage him to eat healthy and I understand it can be hard when you don’t have much time. I had some extra mason jars and the desire to do something nice for him, I began looking into ways to make healthy and easy-to-prepare breakfasts.

With the jars I figured the best (and easiest) thing would be to make some instant oatmeal servings. All you have to do is put the dry ingredients in the jars and seal them up. When it comes time to eat the oatmeal, just add water and microwave. Here are the measurements for the specific sized jars that I had:

1/4 cup quick oats

1 tsp brown sugar

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

dried fruit

nuts

I used one of the jars and prepared some oatmeal to make sure everything tasted the way I wanted it to with the ingredients that I measured out. Once I knew how much water to add, I drew a line on the side with a sharpie to mark how much to fill the jar. Then I wrote the microwave cooking time on the bottom as a reminder. A minute and a half worked best for me. To finish off the oatmeal, keep some dried fruit and nuts with you as toppings and tie a plastic spoon to each jar as a finishing touch.

He really liked them which made me very happy. I enjoy being crafty while preparing food. I’m very pleased with how these turned out. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

