Apple Squares

A Saturday night at home with nothing to do. I had the itch to bake something and I knew there were a few things I was trying to use up around the kitchen. I really wanted to make something with apples but I only had two apples left in my refrigerator. The AllRecipes website is so easy to pull up and search for a recipe using specific ingredients. I found the recipe for apple squares here.

1 cup sifted all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup chopped apple

1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts

2 tbsp white sugar

2 tbsp packed brown sugar

2 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9×9-inch pan (I lined mine with foil to make removal easier).  In a small bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, salt and 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth. Mix in egg and vanilla extract.

Gradually add flour mixture to sugar mixture until just combined. Stir in apples and walnuts. Pour and spread into prepared pan.

Combine in a separate small bowl the 2 tbsp white sugar, 2 tbsp brown sugar, and 2 tsp ground cinnamon. Lightly dust the top of the prepared apple mixture. The original recipe only called for the white sugar and cinnamon topping but I found adding in brown sugar gave the squares a nice crisp shell on top.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes. Cool completely before cutting into squares.

These reminded me of eating apple pie but in bar form. They were a little gooey in the middle. Enjoy a warm apple square with some vanilla ice cream and you have a great dessert. I wouldn’t mind adding more cinnamon and smaller apple chunks in my next attempt at this. It was a great way to use up some extra apples I had sitting in the fridge and an almost finished bag of walnuts.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

