Irish Soda Bread

For one of my class projects, I had to prepare a presentation on food, identity, and literature. It was a group presentation. So for my portion of the presentation I covered Ireland and the women that tried to keep the Irish culture in their families once they left Ireland. My group came up with the idea to bring in some foods from the different cultures as well. And since I covered Ireland, why not make some Irish Soda Bread? It’s easy to carry and easy to eat.

I found this recipe on AllRecipes.com after searching and looking through the reviews for a few different breads. The only thing I changed in this recipe was I left the caraway seeds out.

4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

3 cups raisins

1 tbsp caraway seeds

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 1/4 cups buttermilk

1 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease either a 9-inch round cast iron skillet or a 9-inch round baking pan. (I don’t see why you couldn’t split the batter among two loaf pans and make loaves)

In a large bowl, combine flour (reserving 1 tablespoon), sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, raisins and caraway seeds.

In a small bowl, combine eggs, buttermilk and sour cream. Slowly add the liquid mixture to the dry mixture until flour is moistened. Knead dough in the bowl until all the dry flour is mixed in. And don’t worry, the dough will be sticky!

Add the batter to you skillet, baking pan or loaf pans. Cut an ‘X’ across the top of the bread. Dust with the remaining tablespoon of flour.

Bake for 65 to 75 minutes. Let bread completely cool before turning out onto a wire rack.

The bread turned out very well. Personally I would probably only add 2 1/2 cups of raisins next time. I’d like to taste more of the bread and not always taking a bite of raisin. This bread would be best served with some butter. The crust on the outside was hard but the bread on the inside was soft and tender. I like that this recipe uses the buttermilk and sour cream to keep the bread moist and the raisins give it a sweetness that is just right.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

