Easter Cookies

With finals just a month away, I was worried I wouldn’t be able to make anything for Easter, but a few of my friends convinced me I should make some time for myself. I went to the store after work for my ingredients and grabbed a cookie recipe from my nutrition lab book. I didn’t think the recipe from the book was the most perfect recipe for an Easter treat so I tweaked it to better fit the holiday. I remember trying the original recipe in lab and thinking the cookies were really good! The flavors mixed well together, but they needed to be fixed up to hand out for Easter.

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup shortening (like Crisco)

2 eggs

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups oatmeal

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 1/2 cup shredded coconut

1 1/2 cups Easter colored m&m candies

One way to measure out the shortening was taught to me by my grandmother when I was young. Since you need 1 cup shortening, fill your measuring cup with 1 cup of water. Spoon the shortening into the measuring cup until the water line reaches the 2 cup mark. Drain the water out and there you go: 1 cup shortening! Thank you water displacement.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, cream shortening, sugar, and brown sugar together. Beat in eggs one at a time.

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt, and baking powder. Gradually mix flour mixture into shortening mixture.

Beat in vanilla extract. Stir in oatmeal, walnuts, coconut, and chocolate m&m candies.

Bake for 11 to 12 minutes.

The chocolate, coconut, walnuts, and oatmeal mix well. Even if it seems like a lot at first, don’t turn them away until you try them. What I really liked about making these cookies for Easter was the fact they looked like the little birds nests with colored eggs (the m&ms). This is a keeper!

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

