Shrimp with Linguini

Watching the food network is a bad idea. It always results in me wanting to cook real real bad late at night! Like I don’t already have a long list of things I want to cook up. It’s bad, but good at the same time if you know what I mean. At least I don’t have a shortage of those who want to try whatever I make. This recipe didn’t come from watching the food network, but my tv watching lead me to looking around on the website. I noticed this dish and it sounded really good (I’ve been craving shrimp lately).

I liked the idea of doing this recipe because a) it didn’t take a lot of ingredients, b) it didn’t sound like it would take too long, and c) it looked delicious! So, of course, the next day after class I went to the grocery store and picked up the ingredients along with some salad fixings and garlic bread. It cost about $20 for everything I needed. I already had garlic and olive oil.

1 pound linguini

4 tbsp butter

4 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

2 shallots, finely diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

pinch red pepper flakes

1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup dry white wine

juice of 1 lemon

1/4 cup finely chopped parsley leaves

 

Grab a large pot and fill with water until about a few inches from the top. Add in 2 tablespoons salt. Bring to a boil then add linguini. Stir to separate noodles. Cook until al dente, about 7 or 8 minutes. Drain pasta and set aside. I used whole wheat linguini pasta for a healthier version.

In a large skillet, melt 2 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium-high heat. Add in red pepper flakes, shallots, and garlic. Personally, I like spicy food so I added in more than a pinch of red pepper flakes. It is up to you whether or not you want to use them.

Season the shrimp with salt and pepper. After about 3 to 4 minutes, or once the shallots become translucent, add shrimp. Cook until they turn pink, about 2 to 3 minutes. Remove from pan and set aside. (For me, the shrimp was already cooked at the grocery store so I skipped this step to keep from overcooking it)

Add wine and lemon juice, bring to a boil. Add the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Once the butter has melted, return shrimp to the pan. Add parsley and cooked linguini. Serve once the shrimp has warmed up. Season with pepper, salt, and olive oil to taste.

Very simple. Very easy. So good! Now I know why the recipe had so many good reviews. This one is going in the recipe binder for sure. It was very filling and I felt like it was healthy too (not including the garlic bread). Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Shrimp with Linguini

Leave a Reply

