Cheesecake Factory Oreo Cheesecake

Every Christmas Eve my family gets together at my grandmother’s house to enjoy cioppino and dessert. I always make a cheesecake. The nice thing about this little tradition is that I get to try a different cheesecake recipe each year. However, this year there was a request for me to make my oreo cheesecake. I wasn’t able to find my original oreo cheesecake recipe so I settled on a copycat recipe from the Cheesecake Factory provided by CopyKat Recipes. This cheesecake was so good. Very rich and probably could have passed off as Cheesecake Factory if it had been presented the same way.

For the crust:
1 1/2 cups oreo cookie crumbs (about 23 cookies)
2 tbsp melted butter
For the filling:
3 (8 oz) packages cream cheese, softened
1 cup sugar
5 large eggs
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup all purpose flour
8 ounces sour cream
5 oreo cookies, coarsely chopped (for the batter)
10 oreo cookies, coarsely chopped (for the topping)

 
For my cheesecake I used a 9-inch springform pan which allows the sides to lift off the cheesecake. This makes an easy and delicious presentation of your cheesecake. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

I crushed the oreos by placing them in a ziploc bag within another bag and crushing them with a mallet. Next time I think I may use the coffee grinder to make the crumbs more fine for a smoother finish. Mix melted butter with oreo crumbs and press to bottom and up the sides of the pan, set aside.


For the filling, beat cream cheese until fluffy. Slowly add in sugar while beating on low setting until well mixed. Add eggs one at a time, beat until blended.

Add in the vanilla extract, salt and flour. Blend well. Mix in sour cream.

Stir in coarsely chopped oreos by hand. Pour mixture into cheesecake pan over the crust. Top with the remaining coarsely chopped cookies. Place on top rack of oven and bake for one hour and 15 minutes.

When done baking, prop the oven door open with a wooden spoon handle. Leave cheesecake to set in oven for one hour. Remove after one hour and place in refrigerator.

Everyone in my family loved the cheesecake and even asked if there were any leftovers the next day. I shared the rest with some friends of mine who requested a slice after seeing the photo on facebook! Thanks for the recipe CopyKat!

One thought on “Cheesecake Factory Oreo Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

