Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

It’s like I am back to my old-self because I finally decided on a recipe, went out and purchased the ingredients, and baked all afternoon today. I decided on pumpkin whoopie pies I spotted on the Betty Crocker website here. They sounded pretty good and I liked that they wouldn’t be too messy to tote to work.

This is a good recipe for those who are looking for something simple. Using the spice cake mix instead of making it from scratch speeds up the preparation process and still gives you a tasty and very Halloween result. I really liked how the batter for the whoopie pies had a bright orange color and the frosting used cream cheese with the butter and powdered sugar. So good!

For the cookies:

1 box spice cake mix

1 cup canned pumpkin (make sure you get pure pumpkin, NOT pumpkin pie mix!)

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/4 cup milk

1 egg

1 tsp orange gel food coloring

For the frosting:

1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened

4 oz cream cheese, softened

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 tsp maple extract

1 tube black decorating icing

1 tube green decorating icing

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray (or you can do what I did and grab that amazing parchment paper). In a large bowl, combine all of the cookie ingredients and beat on medium with an electric mixer until smooth.

Using a large spoon or ice cream scoop, drop batter a couple inches apart on the cookie sheet. On the recipe it suggests dampening your hands and smoothing out the dough. I tried a sheet without doing this and my cookies did not even come out in an ideal shape. Definitely dampen your hands and smooth out the dough! It makes the cookies look so much nicer!

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until set. Cool for about 15 minutes.

For the frosting, in a medium bowl, blend together the butter and cream cheese until fluffy. Slowly add in powdered sugar. I was sure to sift the powdered sugar into the mixture to guarantee a smooth filling for my whoopie pies. Stir in maple extract.

Take one cookie and spread a generous amount on bottom. Top with a second cookie, bottom facing down. Gently sandwich the two together. Use the black and green decorating icing to add a face and leaves to your pumpkin whoopie pies!

I decided to not add in the maple extract to my batch of whoopie pies. I was worried that it would be too many flavors all in one pie, but now that I have tried the recipe for myself, I don’t think it would be too overwhelming. We will see how they go at work when I take them in tomorrow.

It was a little difficult decorating the faces onto the pumpkins, but you get the hang of it after the first couple of pies. These are perfect for a Halloween party. So cute!! Enjoy.

One thought on “Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Leave a Reply

