Ingredient list wordage

Afternoon everyone. I know it’s been awhile since I posted a recipe, but I’ve been very busy dealing with everything in my life. I’m kind of surprised with myself. I haven’t been in much of a mood to cook or bake lately which is not normal at all! I promise soon I will be back into the swing of things and trying out some fun recipes. I’ve been on the lookout for a recipe to take to work for Halloween. I still haven’t decided on one yet. It may not even be a Halloween-themed recipe, but trust me, they won’t mind!

I was looking through some recipes and the idea came to me to do a post on the wording of the ingredients list. For those who aren’t big on cooking or are completely lost when they peer at a recipe, there are certain ways items are listed. You have to be careful when measuring out and preparing your ingredients based on the way something is listed.

For example, chopped almonds are required for a recipe. There are two ways you can see this ingredient listed. The first being:

3/4 cup chopped almonds

And second being:

3/4 cup almonds, chopped

The first is asking for 3/4 cup of almonds that have already been chopped. Add enough chopped almonds to your measuring cup to reach 3/4 cup.

The second is requiring you to measure the whole almonds before chopping. Obtain 3/4 cup of whole almonds, chop them and add them to your recipe.

Pay attention to this when putting together your dish! I may add more posts like this. Thought it would be helpful for some beginners out there. Let me know if you have any questions or would like to see more posts like this.

Leave a Reply

