Jalapeno Snacks

I have always wanted to make some kind of appetizer with cheese and jalapenos, but I never really had the need to. Finally the time came for my family’s annual Oktoberfest party. We celebrate both St. Patrick’s Day and Oktoberfest every year. I knew I wanted to finally make my jalapeno snacks for the party. They didn’t last very long. Everyone thought they were delicious and I couldn’t wait to try them myself the whole time I was preparing them.

I found this recipe here through Allrecipes.com and the reviews were helpful. I really enjoy finding recipes that have plenty of positive reviews. That way you know you’ll end up with something worth writing about! I was trying to avoid having to make the jalapeno poppers which you bread and fry. These were much easier and left me with less of a mess.

1 (8 oz) package cream cheese

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1 (1 oz) package dry ranch salad dressing mix

1 1/2 tsp garlic powder

20 large jalapeno peppers, halved and seeded

1 lb sliced bacon, cut in half

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. In a medium mixing bowl, add in your cream cheese, cheddar cheese, mayonnaise, dry ranch mix and garlic powder. Mix well.

When I prepared the jalapenos to be stuffed, I wore latex gloves to protect my hands from the jalapenos. If you skip on the gloves, be sure to wash your hands after you are finished and do not touch your eyes or your face before you do so!

I found it easiest to empty and seed the jalapenos with a small spoon.

Take each jalapeno half and spoon in your cheese mixture with enough cheese to cover up the inside. Take a half of a bacon slice and wrap around each jalapeno piece. Place toothpicks into each end of the bacon to hold the jalapeno together and keep the bacon from curling up while baking.

It is recommended to use a broiler pan for this recipe, but I don’t have one at the moment so I just used a cookie sheet. The broiler pan would allow the jalapeno to cook more evenly on both sides and strain the grease from the bacon. Mine, being on the cookie sheet, cooked in a little bit of grease.

Bake your jalapeno snacks until bacon is cooked all the way through. It says 20 minutes on the recipe, but I found mine was in the oven for almost 40 minutes. I turned off the oven and left them in to stay warm. Enjoy the sound of sizzling bacon and enjoy!

One thought on “Jalapeno Snacks

Leave a Reply

