Oreo truffles

I have always wanted to do more truffle recipes as gifts for birthdays or Christmas time. While I was exploring some other cooking blogs and checking out different recipes, I came across bakerella.com and the football oreo truffles she created. I loved the idea! I work with a lot of people who enjoy football season and I wanted to share these with them. Unfortunately, melting and decorating with chocolate is one of my weaknesses and they didn’t quite turn out how I wanted them to. I didn’t end up with footballs, but I did end up with truffles that got top reviews from everyone who tried one. They were actually very easy to make and tasted like store-bought truffles! I also really like how you can decorate truffles any way you want (different chocolates, coatings, etc).

1 package oreo sandwich cookies
1 (8 oz) package cream cheese, softened
chocolate chips (I used 1 package of mini semisweet chocolate chips and 1 package white chocolate chips)


Take the entire package of oreo sandwich cookies and crush them into a fine powder. Use the entire cookie!

Mix the softened cream cheese and the crushed cookies together with the back of a spoon. Make sure you get all of the cookie crumbs mixed in with the cream cheese.

Roll into 1″ balls and place on a cookie sheet with wax or parchment paper. I took Bakerella’s advice and kept the truffles in the freezer for a bit before coating them in the chocolate.

To melt your chocolate, heat in 10 second intervals in a microwave-safe bowl in the microwave, stirring in between each interval until they begin to melt. You can also use a double boiler to melt your chocolate chips on the stove. Be careful not to over cook and burn your chocolate.

Coat your truffles in the melted chocolate and return them to the cookie sheet. Roll in nuts, sprinkles, cookie crumbs, or what ever you’d like. I let the truffles sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours before coating in the white chocolate.

Originally I wanted to do the footballs, but the chocolate didn’t come out as smooth over the truffles as I’d hoped and putting white chocolate laces on the truffles was also a hassle. I even tried sticking the truffles in the oven after coating them in chocolate to try and get it to smooth out. I am disappointed I wasn’t able to make cute little footballs like Bakerella, but I am happy that they still turned out great…and DELICIOUS!

Leave a Reply

