Golden Butter Cookies

Sorry I haven’t posted a recipe in the past couple of weeks! I was on vacation for a week visiting my boyfriend in Florida. Once I got home, it took me about a week to get back into my normal routine and I haven’t had the chance to get ingredients or plan out a recipe. I had the best time in Florida though! I want to go back..

Now that I am back, it’s back to work and all of the craziness that is involved with doing my job. My coworkers mentioned that they have been craving my butter cookies and so I decided to pick up some butter on the way home one day and whip up a batch. These butter cookies are an old family recipe introduced to me by my grandma. Ever since I was a child, we made these cookies using a cookie press for Christmas time. We would put them in pine tree and wreath shapes and decorate them with Christmas sprinkles. I always remembered them as a cookie that melts in your mouth.

1 cup butter

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour

Preheat over to 400 degrees. Cream butter with salt until soft. Blend in sugar, 1/4 cup at a time until mixture is fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla and then stir in flour.

Pack dough into a cookie press or roll dough into 1-inch balls. If you’re using a cookie press, press shapes onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Otherwise, use the bottom of a drinking glass and press dough balls slightly to flatten dough. Add sprinkles or colored sugar.

Bake for 7 to 10 minutes or until golden brown on the bottom. Do not brown!

This recipe makes about 6 dozen cookies. I didn’t take many pictures of these cookies, but I will most likely be making these for Christmas so I will revisit this one again!

 

Leave a Reply

