Chocolate Cake In A Mug

Last night I found myself craving something sweet. I NEEDED some kind of chocolatey dessert and we had nothing but popsicles in our freezer. It took me awhile, but I finally remembered a recipe that was emailed around in a chain letter. It was a five minute chocolate cake that you put together and cook in a mug in the microwave! This recipe is for the sole purpose of providing you with a dessert that’s very fast and easy to make (and you’re not stuck with a huge cake). I quickly gathered my ingredients including my large mug.

4 tbsp flour

4 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp cocoa powder

1 egg, beaten

3 tbsp milk

3 tbsp oil

small splash of vanilla extract

chocolate chips (optional)

Add the flour, sugar, and cocoa powder to your microwave-safe mug. Mix with a fork. Add egg and mix thoroughly.

Add the milk, oil, and vanilla and mix well. Now add in your chocolate chips. I didn’t have any chips so I took some chocolate syrup and added a little swirl to my batter, stirring it once to make sure it was spread out within the mug.

Place in microwave for 3 minutes. Let it sit in the microwave for a few minutes once it is finished cooking. It will be HOT! Eat it plain or add on a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

I’m not sure where this recipe originated from, but it has made its rounds in people’s inboxes. It’s not the best tasting chocolate cake you’ll ever have, but it’s good enough to satisfy that sweet tooth.

One thought on “Chocolate Cake In A Mug

Leave a Reply

