Mini Chicken Alfredo

I have never tried an Alfredo dish before and these looked so good in the picture! It took me about an hour to put this all together. We invited my grandma over and served them with some dinner croissants and salad. A simple but filling meal. I really liked that they were easy to put together and easy to eat. This recipe came from the December 2010 issue of Cuisine at home.

24 dry jumbo pasta shell

2 tbsp olive oil

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, seasoned with salt and pepper

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 stick unsalted butter

1 1/2 cups grated Parmesan, divided

2 tsp black pepper

4 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

Get out and measure your ingredients! Preheat your broiler and place the rack about 5 inches from the heat. Take two mini muffin cup pans and spray them with nonstick spray. Set aside.

Bring a large pot of salt water to a boil. Cook the pasta shells until al dente, about 13 minutes. Drain and rinse under cold water. Set aside. (I got my water boiling and my pasta cooking while I cooked the chicken…it saved me more time that way!)

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the chicken breast halves and saute until cooked through. This took me about 8 or 9 minutes on each side. Cool slightly and chop into small pieces. Set aside.

Warm up the cream and garlic in a large saucepan over medium-low heat until steaming. (Make sure to watch the heat! I had mine too high and the sauce overcooked and clumped!) Whisk in the butter until melted. Add in 1 cup Parmesan, 2 tsp pepper, and 2 tbsp parsley. Increase the heat to medium-high and simmer until reduced to 1 cup, about 10 minutes. Add in your chicken pieces. Stir and remove from heat.

Take your pasta shells and fill each one with a heaping spoonful of the chicken mixture. Place the filled shells, open ends up, in every other muffin space. This will keep them from sticking to eat other when you broil them. Sprinkle the rest of the Parmesan over the shells.

Broil the shells about 2 minutes, until the tops are golden brown and the sauce is bubbling. Garnish with parsley.

I am really enjoying what this blog is doing for me. I’m cooking much more knowing that I can post it up on here. I’m also getting more use out of my camera! I’m excited for the next recipe.

Leave a Reply

