Watermelon Cookies

Watermelon cookies are the perfect treat for the start of summer vacation! They are also the first batch for my cookie collection. I don’t even remember why I was looking for these cookies, but I definitely wanted to make them. I thought the idea was so creative and I have a friend who loves anything watermelon. I had to make her some as well. I saw two different types of these cookies. In the first type, you mixed up red cookie dough and green cookie dough and roll them together so that when you cut them, they looked like the watermelon slices. The second version was just like the ones I’m sharing here. You simply bake some red half circles and dip the edges in green glaze. I figured this version would be easier. I have to admit I hate rolling out dough and using cookie cutters. I have the worst luck with it.

1/3 cup butter, softened

1/3 cup shortening

3/4 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

red food coloring

1/3 cup semisweet chocolate minimorsels

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted

green food coloring

1 1/2 to 2 tbsp water

Beat the butter and shortening together in a large bowl until creamy. Slowly add in the sugar, blend well. Add egg, milk, and vanilla, mix until blended. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Gradually add dry mixture to butter mixture. Add a small amount of red food coloring to dough to color as desired. Beat on low until blended. Shape dough into a ball; cover and chill for at least 3 hours.

I found it was easiest for me to roll out sheets of dough between two sheets of parchment paper and keep them in the freezer instead of the refrigerator. Then I could work on cutting up one sheet at a time while the others stayed frozen. No more messing with a bunch of flour at that point.

Preheat oven to 375F. Divide dough in half; store one portion in the refrigerator. Roll remaining portion to 1/4-inch thickness on a lightly floured surface. Cut dough with a 3-inch round cookie cutter; cut each circle in half. Place dough on baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Press a few of the minimorsels into each cookie. Repeat with remaining dough.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes and move to wire racks to cool. Do not brown them!

In a separate small bowl, mix together powdered sugar and water to form a glaze. Add a small amount of green food coloring. Dip the round edge of each cookie in green glaze and place on wire rack until frosting is firm.

Unfortunately, I will admit that before these cookies I had always used foil on my baking sheets and had the worst luck trying to get the cookie to bake just right without it browning too much on the bottom. This is bad, I know. And I can’t believe it took me this long, but I finally picked up some parchment paper from the store when I was shopping for ingredients. I wanted to share with you this wonderful product if you have never used it either. I am definitely sticking to this easy, non-stick alternative from now on!

This recipe was found here: People.com Watermelon Cookie Recipe.

Leave a Reply

