Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

This month two of my coworkers will be celebrating their birthdays and I wanted to make something they would enjoy. I have been wanting to try a recipe like this and I looked up a few different ones before finally deciding on the version from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen. For me, it was about the ingredients used and the picture of the finished product. Wow, they look delicious. I made a double batch so everything shown in my photos will be from doubling the recipe, but the ingredients listed are for a single batch.

For the brownie:

1/2 cup butter
2 oz dark chocolate, chopped into pieces
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp red food coloring
2/3 cup all purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt

For the cheesecake:
1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, room temperature
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line an 8-inch baking dish with aluminum foil or parchment paper (I prefer foil). This will make it easier to remove them once your brownies have cooled. Grease with butter or non-stick spray.

In a small microwave safe bowl, melt the butter and chocolate together at 15 second intervals. Stir after each interval until melted and smooth. Set aside to cool.

In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar, eggs, vanilla extract and red food coloring. Add in the chocolate mixture and stir until smooth. Add the flour and salt until just combined. Don’t over mix your batter.

Pour batter into prepared baking dish and set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat together the cream cheese, sugar, egg and vanilla extract until smooth. Scoop spoonfuls of the cheesecake mixture onto the brownie batter. Using a knife or a spatula, lightly swirl the cheesecake mixture through the batter.

Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until knife inserted in brownies comes out clean. Cool completely before removing the brownies from the pan.

As soon as I opened the oven to check and see if they were done, I could tell they were going to be very popular. Red velvet is something I became familiar with only a few years ago and it seems like everyone loves it. Plus, cheesecake is one of my specialties. Of course I should try combining the two. This recipe was very easy. Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina @ Sweet Pea's Kitchen
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 19:46:28

    These turned out great!! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed them! :)

    Reply

    • chwdg10
      Aug 17, 2012 @ 08:37:18

      They were a hit! Thanks for the great recipe. I am going to hold on to this one. I really like your blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 3,197 visits
Proud member of FoodBlogs
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

